Kung Hei Fat Choi!

I went into central London for the Chinese New Year celebrations today. It’s been four years since I went to London’s China Town for New Year, and it’s become so much more crowded than I remembered. There were shoving, heaving crowds of tourists and locals all over the place and it was quite unpleasant.

As some of you will know, I’m crazy about Japanese culture. However, no matter how many times I try, I just can’t get into Chinese culture in the same way. Not a single person in China Town seemed to be smiling or welcoming, and all the people in Trafalgar Square were just so rude!

While shuffling through crowds I observed that every man and his dog now seems to have a big, professional-looking DSLR camera. I felt very insignificant with my small but powerful Canon PowerShot, but I still got a few pics…

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012

Chinese New Year 2012



Leave a Reply

