World Naked Bike Ride

I was in central London today and happened to run into the World Naked Bike Ride. It was quite a surprise, I’ll tell you! I found myself not quite knowing where to look, as most of the participants were male and, er, letting it all hang out. I’ve edited these photos a little to make them safe…

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

World Naked Bike Ride, London

Watching them, I couldn’t help thinking how uncomfortable it must be and wondering why anyone would choose to ride a bike naked. I know they’re trying to promote “a cleaner, safer, body-positive world”, and I don’t really have any objections to what I saw, but I’m pretty sure it would upset some people. (I saw some Scouts go by, averting their eyes!) You can read more about their reasons for cycling naked here but, I wonder, what do you think? Would you do it?


2 Comments on “World Naked Bike Ride”

  1. andBerlin says:

    You just ‘happened to run into’ all this nakedness? Only kidding. It’s interesting to see the differing attitudes to nudity in the UK and Germany (where free body culture as it’s known is common). The largest park in Berlin has a nudist section (imagine people hanging out with it all hanging out in Hyde Park), a friend recently posted a picture of a man wearing nothing but his keys on a string on the U-Bahn (the tube) and public mixed saunas are generally naked only here.

    • Haikugirl says:

      Haha – yeah, I managed to run into them by accident – twice in one day!!

      Wow, I can’t imagine there being a nudist section in Hyde Park – that would be so strange. When I lived in Japan I couldn’t get my head around communal bathing because I didn’t want to get naked in front of people. Guess I must be really British after all! 😉


Leave a Reply

