Picturing Japan… in England

As many of you will know, Picturing England is a sort of side hobby for me, and my real passion is Japan. You can read more about that over at Haikugirl’s Japan. I try to keep things separate – after all, this is a photo blog about England – but today I wanted to post a slight crossover. Today is the 2nd anniversary of the 2011 Great East Japan Earthquake and tsunami, and I wanted to mark that by sharing something Japanese in England. Actually, there are a lot of things to choose from, but I decided to go with a few photos from my trip to the Japanese area of Kew Gardens at the beginning of January…

Winter Cherry

The Japanese Gateway and Landscape

Chokushi-Mon (The Gateway of the Imperial Messenger)


2 Comments on “Picturing Japan… in England”

  1. Tracing Japan in England is …fascinating! Your photos are beautiful, fresh & remembering tsunami is the only way to stop a repetition. Some days, like you, I photograph or write ‘England’ while walking in Greece. Artistic traveling!

    • Haikugirl says:

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I’m glad I’m not the only one who likes to find other cultures within a culture to photograph. Happy photographing in Greece! 🙂


Leave a Reply

