The Great Wave of Stokes Croft

My favourite piece of street art in Bristol so far is this take on Hokusai‘s Great Wave by MM13 on Hillgrove Street in Stokes Croft:

MM13's Great Wave and Phlegm, on Hillgrove Street

You’ll notice this piece has some extra characters though… The original wave was painted in February 2009, I think, and in June of the same year Phlegm made this addition:

MM13's Great Wave and Phlegm, on Hillgrove Street

MM13's Great Wave and Phlegm, on Hillgrove Street

MM13's Great Wave and Phlegm, on Hillgrove Street

Also, hiding down in the corner is a panda stencil which was apparently there before the wave was painted. I’m glad they didn’t paint over him!

Panda stencil, Hillgrove Street

9 Comments on “The Great Wave of Stokes Croft”

  1. Haikugirl says:

    Reblogged this on Haikugirl's Japan and commented:

    I don’t usually cross-post on my blogs, but I absolutely have to share this Picturing England post with Haikugirl’s Japan readers! I found this wonderful graffiti version of Hokusai’s Great Wave on Hillgrove Street in bristol the other day. isn’t it cool?

  2. Great stuff. You know I love Phlegms work but I’ve never seen a photo of his work on this wall. Thanks for sharing. Best wishes, N

  3. dulzimordash says:

    Reblogged this on Spontaneous Creativity.

  4. pearlynnw says:

    Fun and ingenious 😀

  5. Sarah says:

    my son is at Bristol Uni and he lives approx 1 minute walk from this one 🙂


Leave a Reply

