Hello… City Hall

The other day I was walking past the City Hall when I noticed one of the Hello Lamppost signs. Hello Lamp Post is “an experimental, city-wide platform for play”. It’s “an opportunity to rediscover your local environment, share your memories of the city and uncover the stories that other people leave behind. Hello Lamp Post encourages you to look at the city with fresh eyes and engage with systems we take for granted”. And it’s fun!

Basically, when you see one of the signs it tells you a number you can text, and you can have a text message conversation with the labelled object.

Bristol City Hall

Here’s the conversation I had with City Hall:

Me: Hello cityhall #ch

City Hall: Hello, human. All over Bristol objects like me are waking up and asking people about the city. I have a few questions for you. What do you think is Bristol’s biggest claim to fame?

Me: It’s got to be Banksy!

City Hall: Interesting. Someone else told me: ‘The suspension bridge’. Another thing, if you were mayor of Bristol, what would you change?

Me: I would make cider even cheaper.

City Hall: OK. Someone else told me: ‘Integrated and regulated interested bus and train transport system’. Here’s another question. How has Bristol changed in the time that you’ve known it?

Me: I’ve only known it a short time… it’s got warmer!

City Hall: I see. I’ll let you go but check other objects for existing codes – almost anything can talk! Want to know more about objects like me waking up? Visit hellolamppost.co.uk.



Leave a Reply

