Upfest: The Spirit of Tokyo

One of my all-time favourite street artists is Dan Kitchener (DANK), and I am absolutely in love with the Japan-inspired work he does. You can imagine how thrilled I was when I heard he would be painting an epic wall really close to where I live in Bristol. When I went along at the beginning of Upfest the work had barely begun (well, the wall had been painted entirely black, but there was only an outline of what was to come).

Upfest: Dan Kitchener (DANK) - 'The Spirit Of Tokyo' - East Street / Church Road, Bristol

A little later some colour had been filled in, but there was still a long way to go.

Upfest: Dan Kitchener (DANK) - 'The Spirit Of Tokyo' - East Street / Church Road, Bristol

Upfest: Dan Kitchener (DANK) - 'The Spirit Of Tokyo' - East Street / Church Road, Bristol

Upfest: Dan Kitchener (DANK) - 'The Spirit Of Tokyo' - East Street / Church Road, Bristol

Finally this week I noticed it had been finished – and it was worth the wait!

Upfest: Dan Kitchener (DANK) - 'The Spirit Of Tokyo' - East Street / Church Road, Bristol

Upfest: Dan Kitchener (DANK) - 'The Spirit Of Tokyo' - East Street / Church Road, Bristol

Wow. Just wow.

Incidentally, limited edition hand finished prints of ‘The Queen of Neon’ are currently available from the Upfest Gallery and online here. They are a very reasonable price… I just wish I could justify it to myself!


5 Comments on “Upfest: The Spirit of Tokyo”

  1. Bill Chance says:

    I love this – it was great how you were able to capture the whole process. Usually you only get to see the finished result.

  2. jennsie says:

    Amazing piece and I’m glad to see it finished – albeit I wasn’t able to see it in real life yet. I also love his work.


Leave a Reply

